IDEAS PORTAL

"Unsubscribe" Link From Google Groups

Sometimes when emails are sent out to mailing groups, in the footer, there's a "if you'd like to unsubscribe from this group click here". Adding the same functionality for google groups (a link which a logged in user can click to unsubscribe from a group would be a hassle free experience when dealing with group members leaving)

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Aug 29 2018
  • Under Consideration
Connector G Suite
Future Connector Request
  • Attach files
  • Admin
    Peter Bilali commented
    September 04, 2018 13:45

    Hi Michael,

    Would you expect this link to triggered BetterCloud to remove them from this group, or keep them in the group and just apply a filter, or something else?

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    September 04, 2018 13:48

    I don't see an issue with supporting both variants.

  • Admin
    Peter Bilali commented
    September 04, 2018 13:58

    Yeah, both seem to solve it. Is there one that you would prefer?

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    September 04, 2018 14:02

    I was specifically looking for an option that allowed someone to remove themselves from a group by following a link. I think a link to join a group (or request to join a group) would also be cool (not sure if this already exists). Currently, when we add or remove people at our organization to a particular group, it's always up to the Google Admins to do it. I think it'd be nice if the users had some means of executive oversight in that regard too.

  • Admin
    Peter Bilali commented
    September 04, 2018 14:30

    That's a really great use case. In general, just group self service, likely with some approval oversight.

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    October 04, 2018 14:03

    Goole groups already offers this unsubscribe feature, but does not notify anyone, so I see this as a benefit as well if there was a way to simply move them to another role(unsubbed) or change the delivery setting to none(this may be a problem though, as a user viewing the group may not realize why they were set to no delivery). So a role would be preferential.

All new ideas are reviewed by our team before being made public. You can expect an update on your new idea within 48 hours.